Current players

Published on June 27th, 2015 | by Staples Soccer


Wick Wins 5K; Wreckers Raise Funds For Hole In Wall Gang Camp

Sebastian Wick roared to a 19:19 finish in this years Fairfield Faxon 5K race. This was the 3rd year in a row the Staples soccer team has participated in the event. This year saw by far the most participants — 15 — and the highest amount of funds raised for the Hole in the Wall Gang Camp for children with cancer: $796.

Wick — a rising junior — edged out his closest competitors: Chris Andrews, the only rising sophomore to compete (20:17), Daniel Perez Elorza (21:07) and Sam Kantor (22:00). Over 1,500 racers overall enjoyed cool temperatures on the flat course that began and ended at Jennings Beach.

This was a special Jack Scott Octathlon of Champions event. Graham Gudis and Ziggy Hallgarten split points for raising the most funds (Andrews and Wick were right behind); Hallgarten added points for “style,” while Kenji Goto and Jack Zeldes split points for “trying hard but just falling short.”

Other participants included Matteo Broccolo, Andres Marmelo and Daniel Reid.

Noah Schwaeber was injured, but attended the race. Grant Sirlin (injured) and Brendan Mahoney (away) did not run, but raised funds.

Gudis (163.5 points) widens his Octo lead over Zeldes (143.5). Following them in the overall standings: Brenden Price (107); Kenji Goto (102.5); Josh Berman (83), Daniel Reid (69); Daniel Brill (65); Daniel Perez Elorza (53); Andres Marmelo (51); Eric D’Addario (48); Grant Sirlin (47); Noah Schwaeber, Aidan Wisher (42); Ziggy Hallgarten (41.5); Sam Kantor (41); Matteo Broccolo (38); Max Hammer (33); Kenny Brill (31); Luca Cocito, Stephen Rowland (29); Nick Benjamin, Sebastian Wick (29); Griff O’Neill (22); Spencer Daniels, Shane Dasbach (21); Rees Chang (12); Greg Preiser, Rory Steele (8); Jerrett Rende (3).

Next up: beach volleyball, organized by Daniel Brill.

5K participants (front row, from left): Graham Gudis, Daniel Perez Elorza, Sam Kantor, Matteo Broccolo. Standing: Chris Andrews, Noah Schwaeber, Daniel Reid, Jack Zeldes, Kenji Goto, Ziggy Hallgarten, Sebastian Wick. Missing: Andres Marmelo.



Comments are closed.