General news

Published on December 6th, 2020 | by Staples Soccer


Wreckers Announce 2020 Honors

For more than 6 decades, Staples soccer coaches have urged their players to do what no other team has done.

The 2020 squad certainly had a season like no other. COVID-19 caused many changes: 3 weeks of pre-season in small cohorts; only 10 regular season matches (of which 3 were canceled); no state or FCIAC tournaments.

And no banquet.

But the Wreckers are resourceful. Despite the pandemic, their 62-year tradition of post-season honors continues.

The 2 Block “S” awards go to Alan Fiore and Enzo Valadares.

In a vote by teammates, Fiore won the Most Valuable Player Award. Head coach Dan Woog cites his slashing runs, key goals, and tireless work up and down the left side.

Valadares received the Most Improved Player Award. One of 3 keepers, he did not play at all last year. Through diligent training, and leading by example, he became the starter this season. He is only the 4th keeper to win the award since it began in 1968.

The Alumni Award — given for exemplifying “the values that have been the foundation of the Staples program since its inception” — goes to Haydn Siroka. A substitute last year, he lives and breathes Staples soccer. He always has the program’s best interest at heart; he sets the bar high, and shows his devotion both on and off the field. He “totally gets” Staples soccer, Woog says, and alumni should be supremely proud of him.

The Jeff Lea Award — presented to adults for “long, enthusiastic and meritorious service to the Staples boys soccer program” — is awarded to Jim St. Andre. A college All-American and former MLS player with the New England Revolution, the volunteer keeper coach devotes countless hours to the goaltenders. He is their trainer, mentor and friend. He is equally passionate about the entire team. He is a wise counselor to the coaching staff, a true unsung hero of Staples soccer.

The prestigious #15 jersey — worn by Preston Hirten, and honoring his tenacious play, special character and devotion to Staples soccer — will be worn next year by Jackson Hochhauser.

The one non-varsity award, named for Stephen Martin, goes to a freshman player or players who best epitomize Steve’s “special spirit, by combining the desire to excel with the willingness to work and the eagerness to share.” This year’s recipient is Luca Escalarte.

(From left): Alumni Award winner Haydn Siroka, Block “S” Most Improved Enzo Valadares, Block “S” MVP Alan Fiore, #15 Jackson Hochhauser.

Comments are closed.